RAK Dolphin Ace Spikers and Bunts Dubai lift Lourdes Kanajar Trophy

🕓 February 17, 2012

Dubai, Feb 17: RAK Dolphin Ace Spikers and Bunts Dubai have won the Lourdes Kanajar cup volleyball and throwball tournaments, respectively. While RAK Dolphin defeated Chilly Willy in the volleyball category, Bunts Dubai beat Konkans Dubai in a nail-biting final round at the Sharjah Wanderers Sports Club ground. Bunts Dubai also won the mixed throwball cup by beating Konkans Dubai.

As always, LKAE once again proved their remarkable organizing skills by hosting the volleyball and throwball tournaments for the 8th time in succession. The windy day failed to dampen the spirits of the players and sports enthusiasts as 12 men volleyball teams, 9 women throwball teams and 9 mixed throwball teams contested for the coveted Lourdes Kanajar volleyball and throwball trophies.

The day started at 8.30 am with complimentary breakfast to all by Najmat Bangalore restaurant. Gilbert Aranha took charge of the inaugural function and all the teams assembled in front of the stage. Frank Lobo of Galaxy Electromechanical Works LLC, Satish Shetty of SAM Electromechanical, Walter Nandalike, editor-in-chief of Daijiworld, Dayan D'Souza, Ronald Saby and Aloysius D'Souza were present on the dais.

LKAE president Vijay Barboza welcomed the gathering and briefed about the organization and the charity work carried out by them. The guests were honoured with bouquets. Founder member and ex-president of LKAE Stan D'Souza spoke about the tournament and called upon all the participants to play with a spirit of sportsmanship. Wilfred Mendonca conducted the oath-taking ceremony. National anthems of UAE and India were played by Steve D'Souza.

Pigeons were released to mark the official opening of the tournament. Youngsters of LKAE took a lap around the ground with the torch which was lit by the organizers. The throwball and volleyball matches were then officially inaugurated by the chief guests. All the league matches and semi-finals of mixed throwball were conducted in the morning session.

Afternoon session started with a nerve-wrecking mixed throwball final between Bunts Dubai and Konkans Dubai. In the end, it was Bunts Dubai who were able to keep their cool under pressure and win the finals. In ladies throwball semi-finals Bunts Dubai defeated Canarites and Konkans Dubai defeated Mangalore Konkans in keenly contested matches. In men’s volleyball semis, Chilly Willy defeated Seaman's Tigers and Ace Spikers defeated Chilly Willy Nakre.

In the finals of ladies throwball Bunts Dubai defeated Konkans Dubai, and Ace Spikers defeated Chilly Willy in four sets in men's volleyball final.

Prior to the prize distribution ceremony an auction was held for the remaining coupons for the lucky draw. Sports secretary Alwyn D'Souza proposed the vote of thanks.

Frank Lobo of Galaxy Electromechanical Works LLC, Vanita Menezes, representative of Globe Link West Star Shipping LLC, founder member of LKAE, Aloysius D’Souza, Thomas Sequeira, president of LKAE Vijay Barboza, secretary Nisha Lobo, treasurer Joy D'Souza, sports secretary Alwyn D'Souza, Thomas Saldanha and Stan D'Souza were present on the dais during the prize distribution ceremony and handed over the trophies.


Rak Dolphin Ace Spikers - Winners
Chilly Willy - Runners-up

Individual Trophies:
Best All-rounder: Sameer of Chilly Willy
Best Attacker: Avinash of Ace Spikers
Best Lifter : Ramesh of Chilly Willy
Most Disciplined Team: St Josephs North Kanara

Throwball - Ladies:
Bunts Dubai - Winners
Konkans Dubai - Runners-up

Individual Trophies:
Best Smasher: Mable Rebello of Konkans Dubai
Best All-rounder: Sangeetha of Bunts Dubai
Most Disciplined Team: Pacific Stars

Throwball - Mixed:
Bunts Dubai - Winners
Konkans Dubai - Runners-up

The entire event was compered by well-known personalities Uttam Menezes and Gilbert Aranha, and Vinod Shetty chipped in with his delightful Kannada commentary during the volleyball matches. Sumptuous buffet lunch was served by Bangalore Najmat restaurant while the afternoon high tea lifted the spirits of those gathered. The snacks counters served delicious food throughout the day.

Raffle Draw Results:
Mega Prizes

1st prize, Laptop ticket# 1245, Pramod
2nd prize, LCD TV ticket# 887, Gilbert Aranha
3rd prize, Home Theatre ticket# 459, Gilbert Aranha
Consolation prizes:
4th prize ticket# 71, Clarence
5th prize ticket# 429, Lancy
6th prize ticket# 1496, Gilbert Aranha
7th prize ticket# 665, Ramesh Kamath
8th prize ticket# 1294, Arlene
9th prize ticket# 1377, Jude
10th prize ticket# 1056, Thomson Kuttikullam

Photo Album - click here

            Write a comment