ICYM Karkala Deanery holds Yuva Samagam 2015 at Kanajar

🕓 August 9, 2015

Kanajar, Aug 9: Indian Catholic Youth Movement (ICYM), Karkala Deanery, organized Yuva Samagam 2015 for all youths of Karkala deanery at Kanajar Sauharda Bhavan of Kanajar parish. The event commenced with prayer song, sung by members of ICYM Kanajar, followed by a welcome address by deanery president Franklin Danthy.

The program was inaugurated by Fr Joswy Fernandes, vicar Karkala deanery along with chief guest Steevan Colaco and Kanajar unit director, Fr Alexander Lewis. While addressing the youth, Steevan said, "We have to get inspiration from ourselves. We should never forget where we are from. We have to be competent and we should always use opportunities to the best way possible".

A facilitation programme was also held for the youths who scored distinction in their final exams.

In his presidential remarks, Fr Joswy Fernandes said, "We have to get inspiration from Dr Kalam who wrote in his book 'Vision 2020' as 'Dreams are not which you see in sleep, but dreams are those which do not allow you to sleep'".

The inaugural session was followed by an interactive session by resource person Norbert Misquith. He enlightened the youths about their roles in the society. This session was followed by games and activities. After the mass and lunch, the cultural programme began by 2:30. In all, seven parishes participated in a day long programme. The programme served as a platform for the youths to show their talents.

In the valedictory session, Kanajar unit director gave presidential remarks. Chief guest was Fr Alwyn DCunha who also addressed the youth. Fr Roshan DSouza, Hirgan, Ex director, Fr Charles Menezes, International Chaplain for YCS, Fr Mari Joseph, director, Karnataka Region were honored for their services on the occasion. Fr Edwin DSouza, ICYM director, diocese of Udupi, animator Elsi DSouza and Edwin Mendonca were the other dignitaries on the dais. Kanajar, Ajekar and Christ King Karkala Town won first, second and third place respectively in the cultural competitions and were awarded. Alan Sailis and Elson DSouza compered event.

            Write a comment