Mangalore Konkans and Ace Spikers lift Lourdes Kanajar Cup

🕓 December 2, 2010

Sharjah, Dec 2: Lourdes Kanajar Cup tournament favorites Mangalore Konkans continued their winning saga at the Sharjah Wanderers Club by beating traditional rivals Bunts Dubai in the finals of the women's throwball tourney on Thursday December 2. In the men's volleyball game, Spirited Ace Spikers displayed spectacular skills right from the beginning of the tournament and beat Saifa-Chilly Willy to lift the trophy.

It was a bright and fantastic weather on the National day of UAE and around 9.00 am people from different parts gathered at Sharjah Wanderers Club ground to celebrate 10th glorious anniversary of Lourdes Kanajar Association, which is doing yeoman service to the community members around UAE and back home.

This was seventh successive year of Volleyball/Throwball tournament organized by Lourdes Kanajar, and this year's was special because it was the decennial celebration. In all 14 teams for men's volleyball and 6 teams for women's throwball gathered fight for the prestigious Lourdes Kanajar Tourney.

The event began with a brief stage program with Fr Xavier, parish priest of St Michael's Church, Sharjah was the chief guest. Walter Nandalike of and entrepreneur Frank Lobo were the guests of honor.

Joy D'Souza, welcomed the teams and spectators, and Stany D'Souza thanked the sponsors and people behind the seventh successive and successful tournament. Tournament anchor, and well known sports personality Gilbert briefed the rules and regulations of the tournament. Fr Xavier hailed Kanajar organization for promoting sports in UAE and prayed to the almighty to keep all the players healthy, fit and happy throughout their life. Fr Xavier along with guests cut the 10th anniversary cake of Lourdes Kanajar.

Colorful balloons were released to the sky as mark of inauguration. Frank Lobo, Walter Nandalike, and members of Kanajar association were present during the ceremony. The event is expected to conclude around 6.00pm, UAE time after their league and qualifying round matches. Large number of sports lovers from various part of UAE were present to watch the spectacular games.

Entrepreneurs and sponsors of the tournament Frank Lobo and Joseph Mathias were present as guests during the prize distribution ceremony. All the participating team captains, game officials, and sponsors of the tournament were felicitated by the organizers. Besides the tournament, there were many other activities including a raffle draw with loads of prizes. Lunch was also served. Gilbert Aranha and Uttam Menezes did a brilliant work as commentators and managed the flow throughout the event.

Throwball Teams: Mangalore Konkans, Kanarites Dubai, Jashan Dubai, Konkans Dubai, Bunts Dubai and KCO Abu Dhabi.

Volleyball Teams: Ace Spikers, Perfect Shine, Youngsters Nakre, Star One A, St Lawrence A, St Lawrence B, Lama Tours, Coorg Freinds, Saifa Chilliwilly, Karaval Milan A, Karaval Milan B, Jebel Ali Freinds Circle, Namana, Solas Marine, Sharjah Karnataka Sangha.

Throwball Results:
Mangalore Konkans beat Bunts Dubai
Best Disciplined team: Jashan Dubai
Best Smasher: Irene Quadras, Mangalore Konkans
Best All-rounder: Shashi Udaya Shetty, Bunts Dubai

Volleyball results:
Ace Spikers beat Siafa Chilli-Willi
Best Disciplined team: Karaval Milan
Best Lifter: Mohammed Kaizer, Ace Spikers
Best Spiker: Wilfred, Youngsters Nakre
Best All-rounder: Sarfraz, Saifa Chilli-Willi

Raffle draw results:
1. Lenovo Laptop: Ticket no. 1624, Gilbert Aranha
2. Toshiba 32" LCD TV: Ticket no. 1397, Cyril Nazareth
3. Panasonic Digital Camera: Ticket no. 1111, Chris Dias

Consolation Prizes:
1. DVD player: Ticket no. 1455 Joshita
2. Food processor: Ticket no. 105, Shanon
3. Grill-oven: Ticket no. 500, Precilla Suares
4. Blender: Ticket no. 057, Dalia Saldanha
5. Blender: Ticket no. 411, Gilbert Aranha
6. Cool box: Ticket no. 079, Johan Saldanha
7. Iron box: Ticket no. 1532, Lenita D’Souza.

Photo Album - click here

            Write a comment